Skip to main content
2026 Comparison · NICET Fire Alarm Systems

Best Fire Alarm Exam Prep App in 2026

Updated October 2026

Disclosure: VoltExam is our product. We wrote this comparison, so weigh it accordingly. Competitor facts were checked on each provider's own page on 2026-10-16 and are linked below; where a provider does not publish a number, we leave it out.

Short answer: For NICET Fire Alarm Systems Level I and II, VoltExam Fire Alarm Prep is a low-cost practice option: 700+ questions in the iOS and Android app, offline study, and web plans from $9.99/month. If you want taught lessons or a live instructor, National Training Center's online course or virtual classes are the better fit.

How we compared

  • Coverage of the NICET credential and level you are taking (FAS Levels I–IV, or ITFAS).
  • Whether it teaches (course, instructor) or only drills (practice questions).
  • Price and access length as published on the provider's own page.
  • Question count, only where the provider publishes one.
  • Platforms: iPhone, Android, web, offline.

About the NICET FAS Level I exam

  • 85 questions in 110 minutes (outline released 2024-03-25).
  • Domains: Installation 44–54%; Maintenance 40–50%; Submittal Preparation / System Layout 1–11%.
  • References: NFPA 72 (2022), NFPA 70 (2020), Ugly's Electrical References (2020).
  • NICET expects an update to NFPA 72 (2025) around mid-2027; date TBD.
  • NICET does not publish a percentage passing score on the pages we reviewed.
  • Inspection & Testing of Fire Alarm Systems (ITFAS) is a separate credential from FAS.

Official sources: NICET FAS program · FAS Level I content outline · NICET exam references

VoltExam Fire Alarm Prep (our product)

What you get

  • 700+ NICET Level I & II fire alarm systems questions in the native app, covering NFPA 72 and IBC topics.
  • Native app on iOS and Android, with full offline study.
  • Per-topic progress tracking across NICET fire alarm exam categories.
  • Web: free to start; $9.99/month, $24.99/year or $59.99 lifetime. Every web plan unlocks all 44 trades.

Where it falls short

  • No taught lessons, videos or live instructor — it is a practice tool.
  • The app covers Levels I and II only, not III or IV.
  • On the web, the fire alarm bank is labeled mixed supplemental practice; the reviewed set currently covers FAS Level I orientation only.
  • No exam voucher, and no help documenting NICET work experience.

The alternatives, and when each is the better fit

Self-paced online course

National Training Center — NICET Fire Alarm Level I Online Training (30 days)

  • $195.00 for one user, 30 days of access.
  • Self-paced lessons on NFPA 72 chapters, NFPA 70, basic electronics and OSHA, with revolving-question practice exams.
  • Practice question count is not stated on the product page.

Better fit when: You want structured, chapter-by-chapter lessons on NFPA 72 rather than only practice questions.

Source: https://nationaltrainingcenter.com/product/nicet-fire-alarm-level-i/

iOS app

Fire Code Mastery (Webrich Software Limited)

  • Free to download with in-app purchases listed at $9.99, $19.99, $29.99 ("Full Question Bank Half Yearly") and $39.99.
  • Listing advertises over 3,400 multiple-choice questions focused on NFPA 72.
  • iPhone and iPad; also listed for Apple silicon Macs and Apple Vision. No Android version on this listing.

Better fit when: You want the largest advertised volume of NFPA 72 questions and are on iPhone or iPad.

Source: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/fire-code-mastery/id6760103585

iOS app

NICET Fire Alarm Exam (EngineersUniverse)

  • Free to download on the App Store.
  • Described as NICET Fire Alarm Systems prep for Levels I–IV.
  • iPhone and iPad, iOS 15+. Question count is not stated on the publisher's page.

Better fit when: You are preparing for FAS Level III or IV — VoltExam's app covers Levels I and II.

Source: https://engineersuniverse.com/apps/nicet-exam

Try VoltExam fire alarm practice

Free to start on the web. No card needed to begin.

Web access works in your browser. Native iOS and Android apps are separate purchases for offline mobile study.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best app for the NICET fire alarm exam?

It depends on what you need. For low-cost question practice on NICET FAS Levels I and II, VoltExam Fire Alarm Prep has 700+ questions in its iOS and Android app with offline study. For taught lessons, National Training Center sells a 30-day online course ($195.00 on its product page) and live virtual classes. For Levels III and IV, EngineersUniverse's free NICET Fire Alarm Exam app lists Levels I–IV. VoltExam is our product.

Which code editions does the NICET FAS Level I exam use?

NICET's current FAS Level I outline lists NFPA 72 (2022), NFPA 70 (2020), Ugly's Electrical References (2020). NICET expects to move to NFPA 72 (2025) around mid-2027; the date is still TBD. Check that any prep you buy matches the edition on your test date.

Is an app enough to prepare for NICET fire alarm certification?

An app is useful for drilling recall and code lookups. NICET publishes a list of exam reference materials, so also practice finding answers in those exact editions. Higher NICET levels involve work-experience requirements that no app provides — check NICET's program page for your level. A VoltExam practice score is not a NICET result or a prediction of one.

Sources (checked 2026-10-16)

  1. National Training Center — NICET Fire Alarm Level I Online Training (30 days): https://nationaltrainingcenter.com/product/nicet-fire-alarm-level-i/
  2. National Training Center — NICET Fire Alarm virtual classes: https://nationaltrainingcenter.com/ntc-training/ntc-live-training/ntc-virtual-classes/ntc-virtual-class-nicet-fire/
  3. Fire Code Mastery (Webrich Software Limited): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/fire-code-mastery/id6760103585
  4. NICET Fire Alarm Exam (EngineersUniverse): https://engineersuniverse.com/apps/nicet-exam
  5. NICET Fire Alarm Systems program: https://www.nicet.org/certification-programs/electrical-and-mechanical-systems/fire-alarm-systems/
  6. NICET FAS Level I content outline: https://www.nicet.org/nicetorg/assets/file/public/fas_i_content_outline.pdf

Prices and listings change. Confirm on the provider's page before you buy. VoltExam facts come from our own app catalog and pricing. Other providers' names are used only to identify their products.