Skip to main content
2026 Comparison · State P&C and Life & Health licensing

Best Insurance Exam Prep App in 2026

Updated October 2026

Disclosure: VoltExam is our product. We wrote this comparison, so weigh it accordingly. Competitor facts were checked on each provider's own page on 2026-10-16 and are linked below; where a provider does not publish a number, we leave it out.

Short answer: Insurance licensing is run by each state, so the right choice depends on yours. If your state requires prelicensing education, pick a provider that offers it there, such as Kaplan or ExamFX. For extra property and casualty question practice, VoltExam Insurance P&C Prep offers 450+ questions on iOS and Android, with web plans from $9.99/month.

How we compared

  • Whether it meets your state's prelicensing education requirement, if your state has one.
  • State-specific content: the state-law portion differs in every state.
  • Price and access length as published on the provider's own page (prices are per state; we quote the state shown).
  • Question count, only where the provider publishes one.
  • Platforms: iPhone, Android, web, offline.

About the insurance licensing exam

  • There is no national insurance license exam. Each state's insurance department sets its own exam content, question count, time limit, passing score and any prelicensing hours, and contracts a testing vendor to deliver it.
  • Most exams have a general portion and a state-law portion; the state-law portion is specific to your state.
  • One state example — Texas General Lines – Property & Casualty (InsTC-PC06): 100 scored general + 30 scored state-law questions plus pretest items, 150 minutes, $49 fee, delivered by Pearson VUE. The handbook says the passing score is set by the Texas Department of Insurance.

Official sources: Pearson VUE — Texas Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook (#124400)

Looking up your state? Use the P&C state requirements lookup, which routes unverified states to their Department of Insurance.

VoltExam Insurance Prep (our product)

What you get

  • 450+ property & casualty questions covering underwriting, claims and regulations in the Insurance P&C Prep app.
  • Coverage-type reference guide with property, casualty and liability policy breakdowns.
  • Native P&C app on iOS and Android, with full offline study and per-topic progress tracking.
  • Life & health: 144 practice questions with explanations on the web; the native app is not released yet.
  • Web: free to start; $9.99/month, $24.99/year or $59.99 lifetime. Every web plan unlocks all 44 trades.

Where it falls short

  • Not a state prelicensing course: it does not issue education hours or completion certificates.
  • Questions are general P&C practice, not a full state-law supplement for every state.
  • No printed manual, video lessons or live instructor.
  • A practice score is not a state exam result or a prediction of one.

The alternatives, and when each is the better fit

Prelicensing course packages

Kaplan Financial Education — Texas Property & Casualty

  • Texas P&C packages listed from $139 to $349 before discounts; the Premium live-online package is $329.
  • 60 days of online access; extensions from $29 for 30 days.
  • Premium includes an instructor-led class, License Exam Manual, State Law Supplement and the InsurancePro QBank. Question counts are not stated.

Better fit when: You want a full course with a printed manual, a state-law supplement and a live class option.

Source: https://www.kaplanfinancial.com/insurance/texas/property-casualty

Prelicensing course packages

ExamFX — California Property & Casualty with 12-Hour Code & Ethics

  • Self-Study $169.95, Video Study $219.95, Live Online $299.95.
  • 60 days of course access, with online exam simulations and a readiness exam in every package.
  • Bundles the 12 hours of Code & Ethics the page says California still requires. Question counts are not stated.

Better fit when: You are in California (or another state ExamFX serves) and need state education hours, not just practice.

Source: https://www.examfx.com/insurance/property-casualty/california

Online exam prep course

Achievable — Texas Property & Casualty exam prep

  • $149 one-time payment for a full year of access.
  • 400+ practice questions and 5+ practice exams.
  • The page describes it as exam prep, not state prelicensing education.

Better fit when: You want a full year of access and a written course alongside the question bank.

Source: https://achievable.me/exams/insurance-property-casualty/texas/

Online exam prep package

WebCE — TX General Lines P&C Agent Exam Prep Complete Package

  • $109.95 for 3 months of access.
  • Self-paced online package with an Exam Tutor (customizable quizzes and full exam simulations), flashcards and a study planner; content from IRMI.
  • Practice question count is not stated.

Better fit when: You are in Texas and want course content plus exam simulations at a lower price than full prelicensing packages.

Source: https://www.webce.com/catalog/courses/course-information/exam-prep/package/3508

Try VoltExam insurance practice

Free to start on the web. No card needed to begin.

Web access works in your browser. Native iOS and Android apps are separate purchases for offline mobile study.

Or start life & health practice

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best app for the insurance license exam?

It depends on your state and line. Where prelicensing education is required, you need a course that covers it — Kaplan and ExamFX sell state-specific packages (for example ExamFX's California P&C from $169.95, Kaplan's Texas P&C from $139 before discounts). For question practice only, VoltExam Insurance P&C Prep has 450+ P&C questions on iOS and Android; Achievable's Texas P&C prep lists 400+ questions for $149 with a year of access. VoltExam is our product.

How many questions are on the P&C insurance exam?

It varies by state, because each state sets its own exam. One example: Texas General Lines – Property & Casualty (InsTC-PC06) has 100 scored general questions and 30 scored state-law questions, plus unscored pretest items, in 150 minutes, delivered by Pearson VUE. Check your own state's candidate handbook for the numbers that apply to you.

Does VoltExam cover life and health insurance?

Yes, on the web: VoltExam has 144 life & health practice questions across life insurance, annuities, health, disability and regulation. The native life & health app is not released yet. The 450+-question native app covers property & casualty.

Sources (checked 2026-10-16)

  1. Kaplan Financial Education — Texas Property & Casualty: https://www.kaplanfinancial.com/insurance/texas/property-casualty
  2. ExamFX — California Property & Casualty with 12-Hour Code & Ethics: https://www.examfx.com/insurance/property-casualty/california
  3. Achievable — Texas Property & Casualty exam prep: https://achievable.me/exams/insurance-property-casualty/texas/
  4. WebCE — TX General Lines P&C Agent Exam Prep Complete Package: https://www.webce.com/catalog/courses/course-information/exam-prep/package/3508
  5. Pearson VUE — Texas Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook (#124400): https://www.pearsonvue.com/content/dam/VUE/vue/en/documents/publications/124400.pdf

Prices and listings change. Confirm on the provider's page before you buy. VoltExam facts come from our own app catalog and pricing. Other providers' names are used only to identify their products.